FAQ (Frequent Asked Questions)
Do you have ATM's located in The Essential Money Services?
Yes, we have ATM machines at our location. You can obtain cash in increments of $20.00 up to $600.00
Is there a check amount that you won't cash?
No. We can cash checks for any amount.
What kinds of checks do you cash?
We cash many kinds of checks: personal checks, computer and handwritten payroll checks, insurance checks, cashier’s checks, and government checks. We also cash money orders, traveler’s checks, and out-of-state and international checks.
What is the amount of the fee you charge to cash my check?
You’ll find our fee schedules posted in the lobby of each location. Our fees are generally lower than the maximum fees allowed by the state.
How much can I receive with a cash advance?
You are eligible to receive up to $500.00 in increments of $50.00.
How much does it cost?
Essential’s fees are among the lowest in the cash advance industry. We charge a service fee of 10% of the amount advanced, plus a $1.00 state fee. For example, to receive a $100.00 cash advance, you will write a check for $111.00 for Essential to hold until your next payday, up to 31 days.
If I currently have a cash advance through another provider, can I get another cash advance here?
Under Florida law you can only have one outstanding cash advance at a time. In order to get a new cash advance with us or another provider in Florida, you must first pay off or terminate your outstanding cash advance at the provider where you obtained it. There is a required 24 hour waiting period after you pay off or terminate a cash advance before you are able to obtain a new cash advance.
What should I do if I am unable to pay my cash advance on time?
If you are unable to repay your cash advance on time you could be eligible for alternative payment arrangements such as the Grace Period, or if you meet certain requirements, the Extended Payment Plan. Please come into a branch and ask an Essential associate for more details.
Can I pay my cell phone bill at a Essential Money Services?
Yes! AT&T, MetroPCS, Sprint PCS, T-Mobile and Verizon Wireless customers can now make payments at any of our locations. Bring in your current monthly bill or cell phone number for any of our listed billers and pay your bill quickly and easily. Fees start at $1.00 per bill payment. Your payment will be credited to your account within 1 – 3 business days
What if I change my mind after taking out a cash advance?
Essential follows CFSA Best Practices and state laws regarding rescission. You can rescind your cash advance at no cost before the end of the following business day by simply returning the full amount of the advance.
How long do I have before I am required to pay back my cash advance?
We hold your check until your next scheduled payday.
How do you decide what amount I will receive?
We determine the amount to offer based on your income, frequency of pay and other information provided by you. No credit check is performed.
What do I need to bring with me in order to get a Cash Advance?
Proof of income (pay stub or bank statement), checking account (checkbook), and a valid government issued photo ID (i.e., driver’s license, military ID, passport).
What do I need to bring with me to cash a check?
Simply bring a valid government issued photo ID (i.e., driver’s license, military ID, passport).